Bloody Wrists, In a DAZE

From the ages 16 to 20, i felt like i was in a daze. I was on heavy medications for the first time. I was walking, talking, eating and sleeping, but it all felt like a dream.

School days went by fast because i was caught up in my own thoughts and i saw Peter daily. Peter was the first hallucination i had after being diagnosed with schizophrenia.

I didnt do any work in class. i failed every test. I was in a bad place.

I took advantage of the quiet room daily. Its a small 6 by 6 foot room where you go for a break. I spent most of my time in that quiet room.

I would sit in the quiet room and use my fingernails to scratch my wrists. They got all bloody so i went to the nurse.

She bandaged me up and told me not to do that anymore.

I couldn’t handle a full day at school, so often my Dad or his wife would pick me up for lunch. The first few months of my new school, i did half days. I couldn’t focus long enough to last a full day.

So because of all that, i am behind in my academics. I have a 8th grade education really.

 

One thought on “Bloody Wrists, In a DAZE

Leave a Reply

