She protects me!

It was about 12 years ago. I was freshly diagnosed with schizophrenia. lt was late at night, everyone in the house was asleep besides me.

I climbed out of bed and went over to my book shelf. I found my book written by Susan Juby. I sat on the floor and set the book upside down so i could see the author’s face. I decided to make friends with Susan. She came alive to me, but i wasn’t scared. I did this almost every night.

The next day, i photo copied Susan Juby’s picture, 3 times. I hung them on my walls. I now had 4 friends! I felt better, like Susan could protect me from the spirits.

When i was off to school the next morning, i folded up one of her pictures and tucked it into my pocket. I felt safe going to school for the first time in weeks.

Thank you Susan Juby.

 

Leave a Reply

