I am never lonely, thanks to my hallucinations!

I have been hearing voices WAY before I was diagnosed with schizophrenia at the age of 16. If only I knew then, that hearing voices wasn’t normal, I could have told somebody, got diagnosed and put on medication BEFORE I was admitted into my first time psych ward.
When I think of it now, I wonder all those years with invisible friends and what not, were they hallucinations? Was I seeing things that were really not there. Or was I just super creative?
I will never know.
Peter was the first hallucinations I had when I was FIRST diagnosed. He wasn’t bad or anything, just distracting from life. He would visit me at school at the worst times, like when I am taking a test.
He would call me to the bathroom and I would hide in the stalls until class was over. He didn’t want me to have friends. He was my friend and wanted to be my ONLY friend.
I have not Seen Peter since I was first introduced to Clozapine.
Some days I miss him. Sometimes I THINK I see him, but I think that’s just my mind playing tricks on me. I know he is not real, but to me he really seemed so.
I don’t like to hallucinate, but I think I would be worse off not hearing anything. At least with the hallucinations I am never lonely….

Leave a Reply

