My diagnosis has a name: schizophrenia

I used to walk the halls at school in a daze. High school years were the worst years of my life. I started out in a school I was not accepted in. I am pretty sure I was the only one hearing voices at that school. At least at my therapeutic school, there were others wit similar issues.
I skipped classes, went to the nurse daily and hid in the bathrooms.
Then one day I was admitted into my first psych ward. BAM. I was told I had mental illness, schizophrenia to be exact.
All the hearing voices and seeing things had a name. Schizophrenia. It was a very new word to me, I didn’t know any body else who had it and it was quite scary. I felt so alone.
Then I started therapy, some thing I haven’t done since I was little. It helped so much. Just talking with out interruption’s with someone who will listen. I got a lot out of it.
But it wasn’t enough.
I needed to change my meds over and over. It took 10 whole years to get to the right meds for ME. They are what I am on now and help tremendously.
I will never know why I got schizophrenia. But like my Mom says, “Schizophrenics are the special ones” I like to be special.

Leave a Reply

