Schizophrenia at the age of 16

I wasn’t diagnosed with schizophrenia until I was 16, but honestly, I think I always knew something was different from me and my friends and other kids my age.

I would talk to the characters in my books. They came alive to me and would show up in my room late at night.

I never knew others couldn’t hear voices like I did. I thought it was normal.

When I started therapy, my therapist telled me, it is not normal to hear voices.

I had invisible friends like other little girls. But my invisible friends seemed SO real! I could see them and talk to them like they were people any one could see.

When I was about 6, a voice telled me to bite my cousin. I think that was the first time I EVER heard a voice. It just got worse and more frequent as the years went by.

I don’t know why I was chosen to have schizophrenia…but I can handle anything…maybe that’s why? ….

Leave a Reply

